humour · Lifestyle · office · Running

THE INTERVIEW

It’s forbidden for staff to write anything about my place of work on social media… No, sadly it’s not MI5, it’s a flipping car dealership!? I know top secret, right?!? Company policy and all that jazz!

The company I work for is named after its founder and (until recently) director, who sadly passed away on Monday, aged 89.  The Boss was knighted by the Queen in 2004 and last year became the UKs first motor trader BILLIONAIRE.  His success story is pretty inspiring.  If you are Scottish you probably know who I mean, outside of Scotland you can find out who I work for with a quick Google search of the above information but it’s really not important to the story, I’m just rambling.

So, I was sitting at my desk on Monday morning when we (the office girls) received an email from our Office Manager informing us The Boss had sadly passed earlier that morning.  He was a grand old age, we hadn’t seen him for a few years and we were aware his health was deteriorating but it was still a bit of a shock to read.  No-one was sure what to say, if we should be upset, do we just continue on with whatever task we had been interrupted from.  Instead there was a bit of an awkward silence….

My phone rang.

Me: Good Morning, Angela speaking! …I start thinking about a funny incident of a time our late ‘boss’ paid us a visit…

Caller:  Hi Angela, blah blah blah….MARATHON ….blah, blah…VIDEO…blah blah… FILM YOU…blah..  see you on Thursday!

Me: …still thinking about funny story, almost laughing about it… Ok, thanks Bye!

I hadn’t actually been listening to a word the caller (no idea who he was) was saying but vaguely had picked up something about making a video and coming to film me about running?!?! What?! Which made no sense as I was at work?! I really should pay attention*

Turns out, [undisclosed company that I work for, that’s not MI5] has partnered with Great Run Company, who organise running events including the Stirling Scottish Marathon.  Awesome! The caller was from a film company who have been hired to make a video about the partnership between the companies (I think).  Awesome! …except I just stupidly agreed to be in it because I was too busy thinking about a funny story involving my dead boss, bless him!

Now, I am not the type of person you want in front of a video camera, I’m not what they call a natural.  I mean sure I have had more than a few You’ve Been Framed moments, worthy of the £250 prize money but in general I’m more of a ‘face for radio’ type of girl unfortunately I don’t have the voice for radio.  I’m really shy and quite nervous in most situations, including BEING FILMED.  When I feel uncomfortable I fidget, I stammer,  I say remarkably, stupid things when I’m put on the spot and I have this really annoying thing where I get fits of the giggles when I’m feeling particularly uncomfortable, I also smile over enthusiasticly.  So naturally, I spent Monday till Thursday freaking out about it!

On Thursday morning, I contemplated pulling a sickie,  then remembered I’m not brave enough to even do that.  I arrived at work ready for filming looking real fly with a double dose of what looked like pink eye because I’d fallen asleep with my contact lenses in, which I never do and my voice was hoarse from spending the night before screaming Bruno Mars songs at the top of my lungs**

The ‘film crew’ and an assistant from our Head Office arrived and introduced themselves then gave me a quick explanation of what was going to happen..

We’ll ask you a couple of questions a few times, you don’t have to prepare anything, just be yourself, natural, honest answers thats all we need, it’ll take about 5-10 minutes.  We will go set up equipment and give you a shout when we are ready for you.

I got a call from the receptionist about 20 minutes later.  ‘I’ve to tell you they are ready for filming! I hope you’ve got your lipstick on, you should see the set up!’

Now I’m proper freaking!

I won’t lie, the set was intimidating.  It was in the middle of the showroom, lighting systems, microphones, cables everywhere, my collegues who were asking if we were filming for a new Hobbit movie…really funny guys.. and of course there was the camera and cameraman.

Stuart instructed me where to stand and checked the lighting was ok, then adjusted the camera and mic height because I’m a midget (rolls eyes) and we were off…  Stuart, the interviewer threw some questions my way, for example;

Why am I running the Marathon, what charity and why? What motivates me when I’m running? How have I found training? Any tech gadgets or apps I use? Favourite part of my kit? Pre/post run treats? How do I wind down after long runs and my advice for other runners thinking about signing up for a race?

You know, all the stuff runners LOVE to talk about, unless they are me and have a camera, 3 strangers, work colleagues and customers all staring at me!

I had to think of answers on the spot, not a strong point of mine.  We had to repeat some of the questions several times due to background noise and my wobbling.  I was standing which meant my nervous rock back and forth came into play.  I’m sure my voice was jittery (and hoarse) but I don’t think I stuttered much, if at all. We ran through the questions again, I’m not sure if I even gave the same answers. Ha! Finally  we were done, in no time…but felt like a lifetime.

Obviously once the nerves wore off and I was back in the comfort of my office I thought of much better answers.  Thinking about it, I’m 99.9% sure a bit of my hair was sticking up the whole time and knowing me there is every chance I had some of my breakfast stuck in my teeth too.

I don’t know what this video is being used for, I didn’t even ask.  I now fear the day that my colleagues get to watch my jittering mess explain how much I love peanut butter bagels.  Fingers crossed the footage of me doesn’t EVER see the light of day!!


*I do usually pay attention and actually listen at work.  It was a one off.. or twice…ok it happens often.

**I was at a Bruno Mars gig not just screaming songs into my hairbrush in my bedroom. 

How do you cope with nerves?

Have you ever been in a situation like this?

Thanks For reading ☺️

Have a great day ❤ Happy Easter Weekend if you celebrate it.

I’m working today, Good Friday… no-one becomes a billionaire by giving their minions a day off I guess…sigh!

Angela xo

19 thoughts on “THE INTERVIEW

  1. Yep… been in that situation …mafe a horrible mess … thankfully to this day I never saw it and I am never going to look for it. Hardest was speaking to the camera and not the guy asking the questions … bad memories 🤣
    Surely through you did great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad I’m not the only one, I was a jittering mess. I found where to look hard too and standing still seemed like a mission! I really hope it doesn’t come back to haunt me! I might just go into hiding for the forseeable future! Ha

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha!! Oh no I’d have to go into hiding!!!
      I was at the cinema with my friends once and they said ‘Angela stand there I want to take your photo’ oblivious to me there was a Stuart Little cardboard cutout and it was bigger than me, haha! They still sometimes laugh that Stuart Little is taller than me!

      Like

  2. I’ve never been in front of a camera before, not really sure how I woulf react but I’m sure as the same jittery and stuttering mess not quick to think of smart replies. I’m usually a mess on first dates which are pretty much interviews and have a hard time talking, I’d imagine I would be like that. You shouls have asked what it would have been for, you could be on the local news channel lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah first dates, it’s been a while but I was awful at them!!!
      I didn’t even think of TV and when I was telling one of the girls in the run group yesterday she said maybe it’ll be emailed to everyone who has entered races with Great Run Company, or it could be posted on each companies Facebook page….eeek I hadn’t thought of that either!!! I will die of embarrassment! Lol!

      Like

  3. Haha your writing is so funny! I can’t relate because I work in media and make these kinds of videos alllll the time with people who are nervous, don’t worry, they’ll only use your best bits!

    Like

Leave a Reply

