The Future and the Frog

Firstly, today (March 15th 2016) marks exactly one year to the date since I ran my first half marathon.  I laughed this morning as I relived that embarrasing, mile 1 incident in my head.  Secondly, this is my 52nd blog post.

Running and blogging are both things I never imagined I’d ever call my hobbies.  If you had told me before I started doing either I’d probably have laughed at you and called you crazy.  I mean, I honestly couldn’t run the length of myself and if you read my blog regularly you’ll know my writing and grammar skills are questionable, to say the least.  Believe it or not, I actually got a B for Higher English. I’m pretty sure it was a typo but I needed it to get into Uni so I grabbed that little B and ran with it.  I’m rambling.  The point I was getting at was, that you never really know what the future holds.  Or do you?

Last week I went for a spiritual reading.  I had heard amazing things about the medium that I went to, in fact, my friend Lynsay was blown away by her reading a few weeks ago.  I too was blown away when she told our friend and I about it.

I was a little apprehensive about going for my own reading.  I just didn’t know what to expect, would I be frightened, shocked, happy?! The unknown can play havoc with your little head.  I kept thinking should I mess with things like this? Do I really want to know? What if he can’t get a reading from me? Should I think about questions I’d like to know the answers to?

I decided in the end just to look at it as a form of entertainment, after all I wasn’t going for any particular reason.  I really just wanted to experience it.

Don’t get me wrong, I do believe in the spirit world but I’m not naive enough to think that every medium is 100% genuine so I may have gone with a little skepticism too.

When I walked in the first thing He said to me was ‘This is your first reading isn’t it, you don’t fully believe and this reading is for verification for you,’

He explained to me not to tell him anything.  If he said something a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ if it meant something or not was enough for him.  He explained that spirits identify themselves in different ways sometimes a name, date or details about their death, if I know who it could be I was to say, for example ‘that’s my Uncle on my Mothers side’.

He was genuinely lovely and made me feel at ease, he had a good sense of humour and I always find that if I can laugh, I’ll feel much more comfortable. #shygirlproblems

I did really enjoyed the experience and was surprised how accurate he was but I won’t lie, I didn’t feel blown away like my friend, or the 6 other people that recommended this particular medium.
He knew things, things that I have never told anyone.  He got names of loved ones both past and present, dates that were important to me and a lot about my Dad, his life and his health issues.  He even made reference to a personal joke I share with my two sisters.  As it turns out, upon speaking to my family afterwards he got a lot more correct than I actually realised, I have to admit I’m not exactly a quick thinker.

I know what you are thinking, why the heck weren’t you blown away?

Well,  as I said, I went with an open mind,  this was purely for fun and I was adamant I wouldn’t dwell on anything that was said to me.

However, when he got all this stuff so right, I was drawn in, how could I not be, He just spoke to my dead Grandfather about my broken bedside lamp!!!  Then when it came to talking about me.  I just felt he really didn’t get me….at all.

I had taken off my engagement ring, not wanting to give anything away, maybe to trick him. Ha.  It worked, he didn’t pick up that I was in a relationship.  When I eventually told him that I was, he was surprised and asked if it was a new relationship. 8 years?! I’m pretty sure its the real deal. He thought different. He said he had NEVER had to ask anyone if they were in a relationship before.  In fact he told me he thinks I’m still kissing frogs. Ha. (Kevin wasn’t too impressed by this, ha)  I hope he is wrong, I served enough time as a frog kisser back in the day.


He did pick up on a few of my personality traits, but other times he was miles off, for example, he could ‘see’ I was organised, career driven and very much the dominant in my relationships, which even my friends laughed at, as it couldn’t be further from the truth.  Future children, he said it wasn’t a question of will I have them, the question is ‘Do I really want them?

At the end of the hour he asked me if I’d like to see a spirit.  I had heard he can make them visible.  I completely crapped it and said NO, which he was surprised at as apparently he could sense that I was strongly connected.

Perhaps I did want more from it than I thought.  Maybe I wanted him to say I was going to be blissfully married, have 2 beautiful, healthy children and be running marathons into my 80’s. Or maybe the disappointment was because the reading was a lot about my Dad and very little about me.

I can totally see why people become addicted and live by what a psychic tells them, especially if they are going through tough times in life.  I’ve seen people make life changing decisions based on what a psychic has told them. For better and for worse.  For me though after a little disappointment, it really was a bit of fun, and made good chat and laughs with my friends on the way home.

Maybe one day in the future I will read this back and realise that psychic was right but I live in the present so Kevin can relax, I’m happy to kiss my frog for a little longer.

Besides, how did he not ‘see’ that my sister was keeping a huge secret from me, she told me three days later that she was expecting TWINS!!!!

Have you ever had a psychic reading?

Would it encourage you to make life changing decisions?

 

Have a great day 😊

Thanks so much for reading❤️

 

Angela xo

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Future and the Frog

  1. Your writing is pretty great. You write a lot better than most. I usually do my posts on my phone while at work so I have a ton of spelling and grammatical errors haha.

    If he’s connected to the spirit world, it makes a ton more sense that he would talk more about your dad than yourself. Psychics can be way off. I had my cards read once at university, it was during Halloween and the school was throwing a small festivity. The tarrot card reading was interesting but then he said he sometimes sees spirits and there was an old bald man around me. I told him that all my grandfathers were alive and the men in my family don’t bald so I had no clue I what he was talking about. He kept insisting but it did not sound like someone I knew.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, I do a lot of mine on my phone too!

      See, that’s when I kind of freaks me a little, like, who is this bald man following me around…do they go away when you have ‘private moments’ haha!!
      Yeah it was a lot about how my grandfather(who is dead) is protecting my Dad, a lot of it made a lot of sense and was really interesting. My dad was also just home from hospital that day so my sister said maybe it was because I was thinking about him that it was more about him!

      Like

  2. Awesome! I love to hear about peoples experiences with psychic’s. I’ve never been myself as I think they’re a bit pricey but everyone I know who’s gone has said they love it and how freaky accurate it was. Maybe one day I’ll check it out!

    Like

  3. I’ve never had a psychic reading, they just weird me out. Yours definitely sounds interesting though. I’d be curious just to see what they would say, but would have to take it with a grain of salt. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

