First Time

We are quarter way through 2015 already, how did that even happen?  


Yesterday a friend randomly posted a picture of his first car on Facebook asking everyone who remembers theirs to post a pic.  Just for some good old nostalgic fun.. 
 

FYI Mines was a red 1998 Citroën Saxo, it had no power steering and I weighed about 90lbs with little upper body strength which made manoeuvring a struggle and a full body workout.  Sadly Sally the Saxo’s life came to an untimely end when I ran into the back of an SUV.  Thankfully no-one was hurt but I’ll NEVER drive anywhere, wearing pyjamas again *cringe face*
First car, first kiss, first job, first house, first dates.  First times, good or bad are the ones that we usually remember the most.  As we get older we generally experience less ‘first times’ with a combination of doing most firsts earlier in life and becoming settled into life’s routines and comfort zones.  

The half marathon was the biggest ‘first’ I’ve experienced for a while and for me it emphasised my longing to move out my comfort zone more often.  Visit new cities, try new foods anything big or small.  I’m still on the fence when it comes to ‘bucket lists’ but I’m willing to challange myself to continue to try new things.

Here are a few of the (less significant but still awesome) firsts I’ve experienced this year so far..

• First time watching a solar eclipse. 

There was one in 1999 but I missed it too busy doing, whatever 16 year olds got up to before iPhones?? Who knows what?!  Now, without sounding like a complete space geek I thought it was bloody, awesome! I find the solar system really fascinating, although I really, really HATED physics at school, I was a Chemistry girl!….I do love The Big Bang Theory though (the TV show) …I’m rambling. The eclipse. It wasn’t 100% eclipse here but it was noticeably darker, I felt the temperature drop. All the birds flew to roost as it darkened then came back a few minutes later when the moon had passed. I wonder if the were messed up for the rest of the day?  You know those days when you sleep in for work and then EVERYTHING just goes up in the air. I imagine that’s how they felt. Or maybe they thought ‘oh crap it’s not bed time. False alarm, False Alarm…lets hope no-one noticed’

  

• First time attending a baby shower .  

Most of my friends have kids but I’ve never been to one.  Baby showers are not really  traditional in the UK, in fact I’ve always been under the impression you shouldn’t buy baby gifts before the arrival.  However, if it’s an excuse for tea and cake us Brits will always jump on the bandwagon. So last month I attended my first ever baby shower.  My friend Barbara is due her first baby in April.  The theme was Great British Bake Off so we had to bring home baked goods, I made these Raspberry and White Chocolate Muffins. 

  
I’m no Mary Berry but everyone said they were great, so I’m happy with that.  We also had to take a baby photo for Barbara to guess which guest was which baby.  Finding a baby photo was like finding a needle in a haystack, I’m a second born you see, oh and a middle child!!!!  After rummaging through 90million baby photos of my big sis I’d find one of me..but wait big sis is in it too.  Another hour and eventually I found one of me on my own….

 Looks like I maybe ate my sister. Ha. What a wee chubber!!

 

   

Barbara looked through the photos as we drank tea, stuffed our faces with cake and finger food and chatted.  She laughed as she said ‘I know who this baby is!’ It was ME, how the heck did she guess?  Oh that’ll be because my Mum had written my name on the back.  What?! You know, just incase she forgot who I was or confused me with the billion photos of my sisters!  (My ‘middle child syndrome’ may have resurfaced making me exaggerate slightly. Ha!) at least I got on better at the quiz our team won 🙂  We all had a lovely day, lots of fun and overdosed on cake.  I’ve just received an invite to another one.  

*Parents, do you have 3 times as many photos of your first born?  My mum’s excuse is that ‘she had a toddler to run after too’ so had less time to snap my every move like she did with Cheryl. It sucks being second born. Haha!! 

• First time trying a new restaurant.  Kevin and I had a night in Glasgow with some friends and after a recommendation we booked a meal at Piccolo Mondo an authentic Italian restaurant in the city centre.  The food was fantastic, the service was excellent and it was excellent value for money. We will definitely be back. 

white and dark chocolate profiteroles…to die for
    

 

• First time at a make-up class and First bridesmaids get together. 

  
For Christmas, my sisters and I were gifted a MAC Make-Up Masterclass as an alternative fun girly day. Unfortunately little sis, Donna is currently in India with work and couldn’t make it so she gave her place to her future sister-in-law, Danielle. Cheryl, Danielle and I are going to be Donna’s bridesmaids next year so it doubled up as a bridesmaid bonding session as well as a fab girly day out.  The make-up artist demonstrated different looks on models.  We then paired up to try some looks on each other, obviously there were 3 of us so we did some team work.  We were also given some bubbly so I’m not sure how many tips of the trade we’ll actually have taken from the class but we did some serious laughing and had such good fun.  It was super busy so I only managed a few sneaky snaps and ended up forgetting to get one of us all done! FAIL.

   

Kim K Kontouring lesson- don’t worry we didn’t let her go out like that!
       
the infamous smoky eye
 
blend, blend, blend
  
once glam we headed out for cocktails
   

 

and took some selfies
 
• First besties catch up…of the year.

Not technically a first but first catch up  of 2015 with the besties. Lynsay, Lyndsay, Kim and Kevin my best friends since school.  Babysitters, shift work and general life makes it difficult to catch up as a group as often as we’d like but when we do we always have the best time. Dinner, wine (except Kim who is 7months pregnant) and excellent company.

Side note: we have collectively been together for 20years this year and would like to do something to mark the occasion. Any suggestions?  

Ironically we had our second catch up of the year the very next day at Lynsay’s gorgeous daughter Livia’s First birthday. Happy times!

Oh and there was my FIRST race did I mention that already 😉 I well and truly used up all the bragging rights on that, even my Mum is tired hearing about it! Ha!

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Thanks for reading ❤ Have a fabulous week 🙂

Angela xo

11 thoughts on “First Time

  1. After reading this, I think I need to get out and start trying more things for the first time, haha. I think this read has given me more motivation to try new things and get the most out of my life while I’m still living. Looking forward to trying more things for the first time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Saturday – ran 31 miles for the first time! Tomorrow will be my first time baking cookies from scratch. I promised my son we would. Gosh… I’m boring, aren’t I? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

